Rita Allen Foundation — Award in Pain Scholars

Rita Allen Foundation
Award Date:
To support two Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain Scholars.

Open Philanthropy recommended a grant of $330,000 over three years to two Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain Scholars identified as excellent researchers in the fields of pain and anesthesiology. The scholars are:

  • Sarah Linnstaedt, assistant professor, University of North Carolina, plans to research a novel protein target to prevent sensitization to pain following traumatic stress
  • Ishmail Abdus-Saboor, assistant professor, University of Pennsylvania, plans to study novel objective measures of pain in the millisecond timescale

This follows Open Philanthropy’s April 2019 support and falls within its work on scientific research, specifically within its interest in advancing human health and wellbeing.

Read more: